Let’s Write A Story Together!

storymashupfinal

You might be wondering what this post is about, but it is exactly what the title says it is: writing a story with other bloggers!

I first came up with this idea as part of the Blogger Positivity Campaign and what the book blogging community can do together. One of my suggestions was to write a story together, and people seemed interested, so I thought we could give it a shot!

Before I proceed any further, I want to give a shout out and a batch of freshly baked virtual cookies to Trisha @ Bookgasm and Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff because they helped me mould this idea into something concrete. I appreciate the encouragement and the push to make this happen, so thank you ladies! You guys are the coolest!๐Ÿ˜€

Now, if you are interested to learn more about this collaborative story, here are the details:



THE PLOT:

This collaborative project is open to all bloggers who love and adore Harry Potter. This is crucial because our story is going to be set in Hogwarts seventeen years after Deathly Hallows. The story’s plot is completely in the hands of all writers, you can twist and stir the story any way you like, so long as you keep it under 700 words.

THE CHARACTERS:

All bloggers cannot use canon characters from the series. We will be making original characters using the character profile that I will provide as a guide. The character may be a student, a professor, a Muggle, a villain, or even a ghost. It’s your choice!๐Ÿ™‚

THE WRITERS:

For this story, we will have a maximum number of ten writers, including me, Trisha, and Michelle. That means we are looking for seven other bloggers who would like to join us. If you are hesitating because you never wrote a story before, don’t worry! We will be cheering and helping each other out along the way.

THE WRITING PROCESS:

A blogger will be assigned every week to add 500 to 700 words to the story and post it on their blog, along with the links to the previous chapters. I will be randomly assigning the schedule once the registration period ends. The post MUST be up on Sunday, 10:00 GMT, so we can read what happened and the next writer will have a week to prepare his / her part in the story.

You will be writing your part in the story in the point of view of the character that you made. During your turn in story writing, you may also control the characters created by other bloggers, but please make sure that they remain and act close to how the blogger envisioned their character to be.

If we get 10 bloggers for this story, that means the project will take 10 weeks to complete. The last blogger will write the ending of our story, but all bloggers will also write an epilogue for their own characters. Finally, I will collate all of our entries, including the epilogues, and send the completed story to all participants to read and enjoy!

Check out this link for the complete list of rules and the Character Profile.



HOW TO JOIN:

If this sounds like your kind of thing and you would like to join us on board this magical writing adventure, then please fill out the formย and I will be sending you an e-mail with the details about this project as well as the character profile. Registration ends on December 6, 2015 or when all 7 slots are filled up.

If you have any questions or you would like to learn more before joining, leave me a comment below and I will get back to you๐Ÿ™‚

26 thoughts on “Let’s Write A Story Together!

  1. Mara @ Mara Was Here says:

    This is such a great idea! Unfortunately I can’t join since I’ve never read the HP series before… *hides in a whole from extreme embarrassment* Although I do hope this project becomes successful! It sounds really fun to do. I’m excited to read what you guys will come up with once you guys finish.๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Josephine says:

    THIS IS SO EXCITING! I’m so glad you followed through with this and I know you wanted my help for this and I’m so sorry I wasn’t there to help you out, during my busy time! (At least, I think I remember you wanting my help, oh gosh my memory is horrible!) BUT I am so glad it all worked out awesomely because this sounds awesome.
    I’m sad to say I can’t participate because I haven’t read the Harry Potter series *sobs* but good luck with it all, I can’t wait to see how this turns out!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ash says:

    Hey there! Gosh this sounds so good! I love Harry Potter so much and I think it’s so incredible that you’re doing this! But, I’ve never written fiction before *laughs nervously* I have a question though. Each week, the assigned blogger has to create his or her character and write up a character profile on that character. Can multiple characters be created or just that one character to write their POV in? Thanks so much!๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • fiddlerblue says:

      Hi Ash! Glad to see you here! Don’t worry, I also haven’t written any fiction before (well, I try but I never get past two chapters) but I think it’s fun to see how the story would end up with different minds together. Plus, if you get stuck, we can always message each other and help out๐Ÿ™‚
      When you sign up, I will give you the profile and you can make your character immediately. Then during your assigned week, you will be continuing the story but using your character’s point of view. For now, we will create only one character per blogger so it’s easier to keep track of them๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you decide to join!๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

